Award Presentation List

Main Conference Best Paper Awards

Performance Analysis of High Performance Computing Applications on the Amazon Web Services Cloud 

Keith Jackson, Lavanya Ramakrishnan, Krishna Muriki, Shane Canon, Shreyas Cholia, John Shalf, Harvey Wasserman and Nicholas Wright.
Microsoft, LBNL

Voronoi-based Geospatial Query Processing with MapReduce

Afsin Akdogan, Ugur Demiryurek, Farnoush Banaei-Kashani and Cyrus Shahabi.
University of Southern California

Best Student Papers

Combinatorial Auction-Based Allocation of Virtual Machine Instances in Clouds

Sharrukh Zaman and Daniel Grosu
Wayne State University

Analyzing Electroencephalograms Using Cloud Computing Techniques

Kathleen Ericson, Shrideep Pallickara and C. W. Anderson.
Colorado State University

Best Paper Award for the International Workshop on Cloud Privacy, Security, Risk and Trust (CPSRT 2010)

Modeling the Runtime Integrity of Cloud Servers: a Scoped Invariant Perspective

Jinpeng Wei, Calton Pu, Carlos V. Rozas, Anand Rajan, and Feng Zhu
Florida International University, Georgia Institute of Technology, Intel Corporation


Best Paper Award for the Cloud Computing, HCI & Design Workshop

Energy Use in the Media Cloud: Behaviour Change, or Technofix? 

Chris Preist, Paul Shabajee
University of Bristol


Best Paper Award for the First International Workshop on Theory and Practice of Map Reduce

Pepper: An Elastic Web Server Farm for Cloud based on Hadoop

Subramaniam Krishnan, Jean Christophe Counio
Yahoo! Inc.

Best Emerging Research Poster Award

A Survey of Cloud Storage Systems

Xiaoming Gao, Pranav Shah, Adarsh Yoga, Abhijeet Kodgire and Xiaogang Ni
Indiana University

General Chair
Geoffrey Fox

Steering Committee Chair
Chunming Rong

Program Chairs
Gansen Zhao
Judy Qiu

Program Vice Chairs
Neal N. Xiong

Award Chairs
Rajkumar Buyya
Judy Qiu

Poster Chair
Kate Keahey

Panel Chairs
David Bernstein
Stephen Diamond

Workshop Chairs
Martin G. Jaatun
Rajiv Ranjan

Organizing and Communications Chair
Daphne Siefert-Herron

Proceedings and Presentation Chair
Adam Hughes

Poster Session Organizing Chair
Kay Hunt

Volunteer Coordinator
Jennifer Browning


A heartfelt thank you to all of the CloudCom volunteers, IU staff members and committee members who have dedicated their time and service to making CloudCom a success. There are too many to read here but we have certificates for everyone that will be sent to you following the conference. Your service is greatly appreciated.



Organized by Indiana University
ClouldCom2010 Sponsors